Making jewelry with braided cord

I changed my business model more then a year ago and I have been wanting to write down some kind of post mortem about it. Until I do that, I can already share with you that without having a store to manage, I obviously have way more time to try out new materials, techniques  and designs. And it is not only a matter of time itself but also of space in my mind to develop and try new things. When I had the store, my main focus was managing the business. Now I am way more focused on the jewelry making itself : I still have so much to learn and I am happy I have the time to do so.

Lately I have been making jewelry with thick braided cord. A lot of designers already use it and I have been inspired to try it myself. What I like about sewing materials directly on thick cord or fabric is that it becomes like a canvas on which you can put things exactly where you want.

jewelry braided cord

The first necklace I made with cord is the Aya necklace, a new limited edition design that will be available on my new website (when my new website is ready, which should be soon) :

yellow statement necklace

I spent hours embroidering chips, beads and swarovski crystals along the cord but it was definitely worth it. I also made the Olivia necklace, a one-of-a-kind piece made with vintage jewelry and freshwater pearls, this time using a black braided cord. All I have for now is a picture I took on instagram (but taking real pictures of it is definitely on my to do list) :

vintage inspired statement necklace

I am pretty happy with the result and can’t wait to design more necklaces around these gorgeous cotton braided cords.

On sunday, I went to the crafts store and got myself some fimo clay and glitter. I had way too much fun playing with fimo and will make sure I show you what I make out of it.

Have a great week xx

 

Leave a Reply

