Wedding inspiration : beautiful wedding dresses

When I was shopping for my wedding dress, I realized how heavy and uncomfortable a wedding gown can be : staring at myself in the mirror, I looked like a princess but felt like a prisoner. I thought : how can I have fun at my wedding if I am wearing this tight fitting heavy thing ? And with my wedding being in august, I could also picture myself sweating like crazy in those dresses.

So I decided to look for a lighter, simpler dress. I ended up picking a dress from Grace loves lace, an Australian brand that sells exclusively online. All I had to make my decision were a fabric swatch and pictures and testimonials from brides wearing the dress. Having a pretty standard shape, I am confident that the fit will be perfect. And I was happy to order a dress made by a small company with local workers.

For obvious reasons, I won’t be showing you my dress until after my wedding but here are some of my favorite inspirations from my weddding dresses Pinterest board :

Bohemian long sleeve lace wedding dress from grace loves lace

Grace loves lace dress

simple white wedding gown with open front

unknown source

white maxi dress with crocheted detail boho bride

Life with Emily blog

lace top by wedding dress brand laure de sagazan

Laure de Sagazan

simple wedding dress for a summer wedding by j.mendel

J.Mendel dress, photo by Xavier Navarro

lihi hod wedding dress with lace

Lihi Hod wedding dress

grace loves lace avril dress, skirt and top for bride

Grace loves lace Avril dress

truvelle wedding dress with black belt

Truvelle wedding dress

robe de mariée laure de sagazan

Laure de Sagazan wedding dress

I could go on and on with more pictures because there are so many dresses out there that I absolutely love. You can see more of my wedding inspirations on my Pinterest.

And if you are in the process of shopping for your wedding dress, here is my advice. List the things you want to find in your dress and stick to it. Don’t settle for something that looks great but that is totally not you. You will be getting a lot of different opinions from different people and that can make you lose sight of what you like and need : comfort ? style ? sleeves ? no sleeves ? light ? princess style ? simple ? over the top ? long ? short ? Most importantly, trust yourself, be patient and keep it fun !

How about you, any advice you would like to share ? xox

Leave a Reply

